Do you need to know the rules for hunting coyotes in Utah? On the surface, the state looks like the perfect predator hunting paradise. But even in one of the few states that offer a bounty on coyotes, there are a few hidden legal matters you need to be aware of before you make your first stand.
The state of Utah allows coyote hunting year-round. A $50 per coyote bounty is available to Utah’s predator control program participants. There are no licensing requirements for residents or nonresidents.
For additional information, check out Utah’s Hunting Webpage.
Check out all of the Utah Hunting seasons.
Related: Learn the rules for hunting fox in Utah.
Related: Learn the rules for bobcat hunting in Utah.
General rules for hunting coyotes in Utah.
Night hunting. Allowed by state law, but counties have the authority to restrict it—and many do.
In most instances, you may not use protected wildlife or its parts as bait to take a furbearer, coyote, or raccoon. The only exceptions are as follows:
• You may use the white-bleached bones of protected wildlife with no hide or flesh attached.
• You may use parts of legally taken furbearers and nonprotected wildlife.
Suppressors. Legal to own and hunt with, as seen below.
Related: Learn how to make the perfect bait pile here.
Related: Read this article to find the perfect place to shoot a coyote.
Related: If you need to find a wounded coyote, learn how to track a wounded coyote here.
There is a bounty for hunting coyotes in Utah.
The DWR predator-control program provides incentives for hunters to remove coyotes. Participants receive up to $50 for each properly documented coyote that they kill in Utah.Are you interested in participating? Follow the links below to register for the program, find check-in locations, download the compensation form and obtain answers to frequently asked questions. This program may change at any time, so please check this page periodically.
Note: The Utah Wildlife Board passed several changes to the predator control program that became effective on August 7, 2018. All participants will need to meet these requirements to participate in the program. Read more about the changes.
Related: Here’s a detailed article on the ATN X-Sight 4K Pro Infrared riflescope.
Related: What are the two most successful sounds that bring in a coyote?
Other Utah hunting laws that you need to heed.
While taking wildlife or engaging in wildlife-related activities, you may not— without permission—enter or remain on privately owned land that is:
• Properly posted.
• Fenced or enclosed in a manner designed to exclude intruders
In addition, you may not:
• Enter or remain on private land when directed not to do so by the owner or a person acting for the owner.
• Obstruct any entrance or exit to private property.
“Cultivated land” is land that is readily identifiable as a land whose soil is loosened or broken up for the raising of crops, land used for the raising of crops, or a pasture that is artificially irrigated.
“Permission” means written authorization from the owner or person in charge to enter upon private land that is cultivated or properly posted. Permission must include all of the following details:
• The signature of the owner or person in charge
• The name of the person being given permission
• The appropriate dates.
• A general description of the land “Properly posted” means that signs prohibiting trespass—or bright yellow, bright orange, or fluorescent paint—are clearly displayed at all corners, on fishing streams crossing property lines, and on roads, gates, and rights-of-way entering the land. Or they are displayed in a manner that is visible to a person in the area.
You may not post private property you do not own or legally control or land that is open to the public as provided by Utah Code § 23-21-4.
In addition, it is unlawful to take protected wildlife or its parts while trespassing in violation of Utah Code § 23-20-14.
You are guilty of a class B misdemeanor if you violate any provision described in this section. Your license, tag, or permit privileges may also be suspended.
Related: Learn how to ask for permission to hunt private property here.
Places where you cannot shoot a firearm in Utah.
You may not discharge a dangerous weapon or firearm under any of the following circumstances:
• From a vehicle.
• From, upon, or across any highway.
• At power lines or signs.
• At railroad equipment or facilities, including any sign or signal.
• Within a Utah state park camp or picnic sites, overlooks, golf courses, boat ramps, or developed beaches.
• Without written permission from the owner or property manager, within 600 feet of:
• A house, dwelling, or any other building.
• Any structure in which a domestic animal is kept or fed, including a barn, poultry yard, corral, feeding pen, or stockyard.
Related: Help a farmer out—teach them how to kill a fox that’s eating their chickens.
Spotlighting while hunting coyotes in Utah.
Some counties allow spotlighting if a hunter is trying to harvest coyotes, red fox, striped skunk, or raccoon. See Utah Code § 23- 13-17 and your county laws and ordinances for more information.
Even if your county’s laws do not permit spotlighting, you may still use spotlighting to hunt coyote, red fox, striped skunk, or raccoon if you are one of the following individuals:
• A landowner (or landowner’s agent) who is protecting crops or domestic animals from predation by those animals.
• A Wildlife Services agent, acting in an official capacity under a memorandum of understanding with the Division.
Prohibited: Carrying certain loaded firearms in a vehicle in Utah.
Utah Code §§§§ 76-10-502, 76-10-504, 76-10-505 and 76-10-523 states:
You may not carry a loaded firearm in or on a vehicle unless you meet all of the following conditions:
• You own the vehicle or have permission from the vehicle’s owner.
• The firearm is a handgun.
• You are 18 years of age or older.
A pistol, revolver, rifle, or shotgun is considered to be loaded when there is an unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile in the firing position.
Pistols and revolvers are also considered to be loaded when an unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile is in a position whereby the manual operation of any mechanism once would cause the unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile to be fired.
A muzzleloading firearm is considered loaded when it is capped or primed and has a powder charge and ball or shot in the barrel or cylinder.
Remember! You bear sole responsibility for knowing all the laws for hunting in Utah. THis article is for general informational purposes only.