Laws for Hunting Fox in Rhode Island

What are the laws for hunting fox in Rhode Island? This article covers many of the fundamental laws you will need to know to get started. It also provides information such as seasons, harvest limits, and required permits for bobcat hunting in Rhode Island. It is not a legal document and is not intended to cover all hunting laws and regulations.

Laws for Hunting Fox in Rhode Island
Laws for Hunting Fox in Rhode Island.

In Rhode Island, the gray and red fox hunting season runs from October 16 – February 28, 2022 and October 15 – February 28, 2023. Hunting hours are restricted to 1/2 hour before sunrise until 1/2 after sunset. A valid license is required.

Purchase a Rhode Island hunting license here.

Check out all the Rhode Island hunting seasons.

First time hunting fox? Check out these articles:

Read: How to call in a fox.

Read: How to use tracks and scat to hunt a fox.

Related: Read the laws for hunting coyotes in Rhode Island.

General regulations for hunting fox in Rhode Island.

Electronic callers and decoys. Both are legal, as are hand and mouth callers.

While electronic callers are expensive, mouth and hand callers are less pricey but take time to learn how to use.

Read this article and watch the video to learn how to use a closed reed rabbit squealer.

Follow along as call manufacturer Brian Rush shows you three open reed calls you can learn and use today.

You can read about some highly effective but inexpensive ($20) decoys here.

You can check Amazon’s price list for callers and decoys here.

Fluorescent Orange Requirements for fox hunting in Rhode Island.

Solid fluorescent hunter orange must be worn above the waist and be visible in all directions. Examples are: a hat that covers 200 square inches or a combination of hat and vest covering 500 square inches. Fluorescent camouflage does not meet this requirement. 

  • 200 square inches by small game hunters during the small game season, fall turkey hunters while traveling, and muzzleloader deer hunters during the muzzleloader deer season.
  • 200 square inches by archers when traveling to/from elevated stands during the muzzleloader season. Once in an elevated stand, archery deer hunters are exempt from the orange requirement during the muzzleloader season.
  • 500 square inches by all hunters (including archers) and all users of management areas and undeveloped state parks during all portions of shotgun deer seasons.
  • Hunters using pop-up blinds during the firearms deer season must display 200 square inches of fluorescent orange visible on the outside of the blind from all directions. Hunters must also wear orange in accordance with the rules for the specific seasons while in the blind. 
  • Exemptions: Raccoon hunters when hunting at night, crow hunters while hunting over decoys, spring turkey hunters, first segment dove hunters, and waterfowl hunters while hunting from a boat or a blind, over water or field, when done in conjunction with decoys. Fluorescent orange is not required in areas limited to archery-only hunting by regulation.
  • All other users of State Management Areas and designated undeveloped State Parks, including but not limited to: hikers, bikers, and horseback riders are required to wear 200 square inches of solid daylight fluorescent orange from the second Saturday in September to the last day of February and the third Saturday in April to the last day in May.

Dennis V. Gilmore Jr.

Dennis V. Gilmore Jr. is a former Marine Sergeant and the author of several books, including two on night hunting coyotes and red and gray fox. He has written several hundred articles on predator hunting for

Recent Posts