Montana Hunting Seasons: Updated

This page of Montana hunting seasons is updated annually. While focuses on coyotes, fox, and bobcats, it is hoped other game hunters will take up predator hunting as well. We suggest you check out these predator hunting links specific to the state of Montana:

Purchase a hunting license in Montana here.

Learn the rules for hunting coyotes in Montana.

Learn the rules for hunting bobcats in Montana.

Learn the rules for hunting fox in Montana.

Montana hunting seasons
Hunting bison in Montana.

Montana hunting seasons for big game.

Montana wolf hunting season update.

On Tuesday, Nov. 15, 2022, a District Court in Lewis and Clark County issued a temporary restraining order impacting some of Montana’s wolf hunting and trapping regulations. The changes go into effect immediately.

According to a release from Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks, the changes outlined in the temporary restraining order are as follows:

  • Reinstitutes wolf management units (WMU) 110, 313, and 316 as they existed in the 2020 wolf regulations. WMU 110 borders Glacier National Park and WMUs 313 and 316 are north of Yellowstone National Park
  • Reinstitutes the quotas for WMU 110, 313, 316 as they existed in the 2020 wolf regulations, which are two wolves in WMU 110 and one wolf each in WMU 313 and 316. Currently, one wolf has been harvested in WMU 313 and no wolves have been harvested in WMU 316 and 110. Wolf hunting and trapping in WMU 313 is now closed.
  • Restricts all hunters and trappers to harvesting five wolves total per person, per season.
  • Prohibits the use of snares as a legal method of take for trapping wolves.

Montana Antelope hunting season for 2022.

900 series: Aug. 15 – Nov. 13

Archery: Sept. 3 – Oct. 7

General: Oct. 8 – Nov. 13

Montana Big Horn Sheep season for 2022.

Archery: Sept. 3 – Sept. 14

General: Sept. 15 – Nov. 27

Montana hunting season for Bison in 2022.

Nov. 15 – Feb. 15, 2023

Black bear hunting season in Montana in 2022-2023.

Spring: Apr. 15 – May 31 or June 15

Spring Hound Hunting: Apr. 15 – May 25

Spring Hound Training: May 26 – June 15

Archery: Sept. 3 – Sept. 14

Fall: Sept. 15 – Nov. 27

Deer and elk hunting seasons.

Archery: Sept. 3 – Oct. 16

Youth, deer onlyOct. 20 – Oct. 21

General: Oct. 22 – Nov. 27

Muzzleloader: Dec. 10 – 18

Backcountry – HD’s 150, 280, 316*

Archery: Sept. 3 – Sept. 14

General: Sept. 15 – Nov. 27

*HD 316 does not have an Archery-only Season

Moose hunting season in Montana 2022.

Sept. 15 – Nov. 27

Mountain goat season in Montana in 2022.

Sept. 15 – Nov. 27

Montana hunting seasons for Mountain Lion in 2022.

Archery (without dogs): Sept. 3 – Oct. 16

Fall (without dogs): Oct. 22 – Nov. 27

Winter: Dec. 1 – April 14

Late Winter: Feb. 1 – April 14

Resident Hound Training Season: Dec. 2 – April 14

Migratory bird hunting seasons for Montana in 2022.


Common (Wilson’s) Snipe

Sept. 1 – Dec. 16

Mourning Dove

Sept. 1 – Oct. 30

Youth Waterfowl

Sept. 24 – 25

Pacific Flyway

Ducks (including Mergansers)

Oct. 1 – Jan. 13


Oct. 1 – Jan. 13


Oct. 1 – Jan. 13

Falconry: Ducks (including Mergansers), Coots and Geese

Oct. 1 – Jan. 13

Central Flyway

Ducks (including Mergansers)

Zone 1: Oct. 1 – Jan. 5

Zone 2: Oct. 1 – Oct. 9 Oct. 22 – Jan. 17


Zone 1: Oct. 1 – Jan. 5

Zone 2: Oct. 1 – Oct. 9 Oct. 22 – Jan. 17


Zone 1: Oct. 1 – Jan. 13

Zone 2: Oct. 1 – Oct. 9 & Oct. 22 – Jan. 25

Falconry: Ducks (including Mergansers) and Coots

Zone 1: Sept. 21 – Jan. 5

Zone 2: Sept. 21 – Oct. 9 & Oct. 22 – Jan. 17

Falconry: Geese

Zone 1: Oct. 1 – Jan. 13

Zone 2: Oct. 1 – Oct. 9 & Oct. 22 – Jan. 25

Montana hunting seasons for Upland game birds in 2022.

Mountain Grouse: Sept. 1 – Jan. 1

Partridge: Sept. 1 – Jan. 1

Ring-necked Pheasant: Oct. 8 – Jan. 1

Youth Hunt: Sept. 24 – Sept. 25

Sage Grouse: Sept. 1 – Sept. 30

Sharp-tailed Grouse: Sept. 1 – Jan. 1

Falconry: Sept. 1 – March 31

Getting block management hunter access in Montana.

1. Obtain a guide

You can order the Block Management Hunter Access Guide between June 1 and December 31 each year. Guides will be available online and will be shipped beginning mid-August.


2. Select an area

Using the guide, determine which Block Management opportunities in the area you wish to hunt fit in best with your hunting methods and style. Then obtain a copy of the maps and regulations for the block management areas that interest you. Maps and regulations are available online beginning in mid-August.

3. Secure permission

There are two types of BMAs:

TYPE I BMA — Area where hunters administer their own permission.

This includes BMAs that use sign-in boxes, and BMAs that do not require hunters to obtain permission. Typically, Type I BMAs do not limit hunter numbers or require reservations, although some parking areas have vehicle limits.

TYPE II BMA — Area where someone other than the hunter issues permission.

This includes BMAs where the landowner or an FWP staff member issues permission. Type II BMAs often require reservations and utilize pasture assignments, hunter number limits, and other hunter management systems.

Block Management cooperators have the ability to provide preference to veterans on Veteran’s Day for those BMAs requiring reservations (mostly Type II). Some of the cooperators who may be providing this preference have been listed in each regional section in the BMA Access Guide.

4. Follow all the rules

Each BMA has its own rules agreed upon by the landowner(s) and FWP regional personnel. Be sure to read, understand and follow the rules for the BMA you plan to hunt. Ethical behavior afield, in following rules for such things as obtaining permission, vehicle restrictions, game retrieval, hunting area boundaries, camping, etc., will help ensure future access to private lands.

Look for Block Management signs on site and abide by the instructions conveyed. Generally green signs mean hunting behind the sign is allowed with certain restrictions. These may include hunting by written permission only, signing a roster before entry, vehicles on established roads only, etc. Orange signs are used for areas closed to hunting or motorized travel, such as for safety zones (residence and livestock areas), no shooting zones, or road closures.

Dennis V. Gilmore Jr.

Dennis V. Gilmore Jr. is a former Marine Sergeant and the author of several books, including two on night hunting coyotes and red and gray fox. He has written several hundred articles on predator hunting for

Recent Posts